Episode # 32

Journey’s End

Rachel Hawkins

Proving she can master yet another genre, New York Times bestselling YA author Rachel Hawkins brings us a riveting middle grade fantasy adventure, perfect for fans of Ingrid Law.
Read More »

Fiction
On Sale Date:
Format:
Pages:
Price:
ISBN:
ISBN-13:
Age/Grade:
Publisher:

 


10/25/16
Hardcover
304
$16.99
0399169601
9780399169601
8 - 12 / 3 - 7
G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers

 


VIEW CHAT ARCHIVE
 

 

Journey’s End

The town of Journey’s End may not literally be the end of the world, but it sure feels like it to Nolie Stanhope. Spending the summer with her scientist father in the tiny Scottish village isn’t exactly Nolie’s idea of a good time, but she soon finds a friend: native Journey’s Ender Bel McKissick.

While Nolie’s father came to Journey’s End to study the Boundary—a mysterious fog bank offshore—Bel’s family will barely acknowledge its presence, let alone talk about the superstition that surrounds it. Still, whether you believe in magic or science, flying or sailing into the Boundary means you’ll never come back.

Unless you do. Albert Etheridge, a boy who disappeared into the Boundary in 1914, suddenly returns—without having aged a day and with no memory of the past hundred years. Then the Boundary starts creeping closer to the town, threatening to consume everyone within.

While Nolie’s father wants to have the village evacuated, Bel’s parents lead the charge to stay in Journey’s End. Meanwhile, Albert and the girls look for ways to stop the encroaching boundary, coming across an old Scottish legend that requires magic, a quest, and a sacrifice.

Praise for the Rebel Belle Series

“Harper’s signature wit punctuates the action, balancing snappy satire of the Pine Grove community and its beauty pageant with the edgy suspense of the Ephors’ everlooming next attack.”
Booklist

“This series—about an Alabama belle who is suddenly gifted with supernatural powers—has everything you could want from the genre and more: heart, smarts, scares, swoons and best of all, LAUGHS.”
Kirkus

“Harper is as quippy as you please, with a sass born of a sharp intellect….as surprising as it is delicious.”
Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books, starred review

Rachel Hawkins is the author of the Rebel Belle series and the New York Times bestselling Hex Hall series. Born in Virginia and raised in Alabama, Rachel taught high school English before becoming a full-time writer.