Episode # 5

The Forbidden Library

Django Wexler

The Forbidden Library kicks off a brand new classic fantasy series perfect for fans of Coraline, Inkheart, and The Books of Elsewhere. Read More »

Fiction
On Sale Date:
Format:
Pages:
Price:
ISBN:
ISBN-13:
Age/Grade:
Publisher:

 


4/15/14
Hardcover
373
$16.99
0803739753
9780803739758
10 & Up / 5 & Up
Kathy Dawson Books

 


VIEW CHAT Archive
 

 

The Forbidden Library

Alice always thought fairy tales had happy endings. That–along with everything else–changed the day she met her first fairy.

When Alice’s father goes down in a shipwreck, she is sent to live with her uncle Geryon–an uncle she’s never heard of and knows nothing about. He lives in an enormous manor with a massive library that is off-limits to Alice. But then she meets a talking cat. And even for a rule-follower, when a talking cat sneaks you into a forbidden library and introduces you to an arrogant boy who dares you to open a book, it’s hard to resist. Especially if you’re a reader to begin with. Soon Alice finds herself INSIDE the book, and the only way out is to defeat the creature imprisoned within.

It seems her uncle is more than he says he is. But then so is Alice.

Praise for The Forbidden Library

“Working in the grand tradition of children's fantasy, Wexler's off to a promising start.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Will gratify book lovers and fantasy experts alike.”
The Horn Book

“Fans of Harry Potter and Cornelia Funke's Inkheart (2003) will relish that the library houses magical books . . . It's a joy to watch the dutiful Alice develop her innate curiosity and become a proactive, resourceful heroine, matching wits with snarky cats, dangerous beasts, and a certain smug boy. This is a charming, adventuresome fantasy from a promising new author.”
Booklist

“Reminiscent of Cornelia Funke's Inkheart (Scholastic, 2003) and Neil Gaiman's Coraline (HarperCollins, 2002). Wexler ingeniously creates an inventive world with interesting creatures and frightening situations.”
School Library Journal


Django Wexler used to work for Microsoft and now writes full-time. He lives in Bothell, Washington. www.djangowexler.com.